For many people, Walmart is a good point for getting liquor. This superstore comes in handy, especially during emergencies. But, sometimes, you can experience disappointments. The good news is you can avoid this by figuring out exactly what time does Walmart stop selling alcohol.
If you are like me, you have certainly left the superstore disappointed with no wine bottle or six-pack in hand due to timing conflicts.
Unbeknownst to many people like me, Walmart actually has a clear schedule that indicates the timings for its liquor selling section, no matter the Walmart store.
View this post on Instagram
But, wait! You don’t have to visit a Walmart store to figure this information out. I’ve done the heavy lifting for you and compiled a complete Walmart timing guide for all its liquor stores across the stateside US.
What Time Does Walmart Stop Selling Alcohol?
All Walmart stores stop selling alcohol according to the state or county laws of the particular area. If a state or county has set laws that prohibit liquor sales at a certain timeframe, Walmart is completely to follow these laws.
So, while some Walmart stores stop selling alcohol as early as 5 PM, other is other jurisdictions can sell alcohol for 24 hours. Instead, it’s not the management of the superstore chain that decides the timing for liquor sales. There’s no one size fits all liquor-selling timeframe for all Walmart stores in the US.
Due to these laws, you will find some of the most interesting timings on liquor sales for some Walmart stores. For example, most Walmart stores across South Carolina sell liquor until 7 PM, daily.
On the other hand, you will find some stores in states that prohibit alcohol sales altogether on Sundays. This means that you will not be able to purchase alcohol at all on Sundays from Walmart stores in those states.
But, you will also find that some Walmart stores have completely different hours than the state’s mandated liquor sales laws. This is because the stores are sometimes obligated to follow the alcohol sales laws imposed by counties or towns, as opposed to the overall state.
This explains why you will come across dry towns where Walmart doesn’t sell alcohol at all as alcohol sales in the stores are strictly prohibited.
For example, Walmart and similar stores in Allegheny County, Pennsylvania are prohibited from selling alcohol as it is a dry county.
Instead, alcohol is exclusively available and sold in liquor stores (that follow the county laws’ mandated liquor selling times). So, in general, the opening and closing time of any Walmart store is dependent n the;
- Location of the Walmart store (state, county, or town)
- Day of the week (Some states prohibit alcohol sales on Sunday or festive holidays like Christmas)
- The type of alcohol (most alcohol laws are particular with beer, wine, and malt liquor)
Walmart Alcohol Sales Special Considerations
Walmart alcohol selling times are strictly dependent on laws imposed by the state, county, or town. Therefore, the stores never take special considerations, as this will be considered as breaking the law.
Younger people, like elsewhere, are required to provide an ID to prove their age (has to be at least 21 years old), before purchasing the alcohol. After all, failure to check the date or providing falsified documents may get both the seller and customer into legal trouble, with federal penalties.
Also check: What Time Do They Stop Selling Beer in Texas?
Walmart Alcohol Sales in the US – In-Store & Online Purchases
Every state in the US has its own laws pertaining to the sale of alcohol. This means that Walmart does not sell alcohol in every state. This is because some states are considered dry and strictly prohibit the sale of alcohol.
Further, like in-store, you cannot order and purchase alcohol from the Walmart website at any time. Like the physical stores, the Walmart website and app follow the strict state, county, and town laws on alcohol. in this case, online purchases follow the laws of your residential address.
So, if you want to order alcohol online from Walmart and you reside in Allegheny County, Pennsylvania, this service will not be available to you.
View this post on Instagram
On the other hand, for people who live in states or counties allowing the purchase of alcohol, store timings in their area code will be applied to their online orders.
So, if a Walmart within your area code stops selling alcohol at 5 PM, you can order alcohol online before 5 PM as well.
You can then choose to have your order delivered or prepped for pick up and take a slot during lawful alcohol selling hours.
If you select a slot during a time whereby it’s unlawful for the store to sell liquor, the slot will be removed from your order.
Walmart Alcohol Sales During the Holidays
Most Walmart stores sell alcohol during the Walmart in accordance with their state, county, or town laws. Similarly, however, the timings vary based on the location.
For example, the state of Colorado prohibits alcohol sales during Christmas. However, other states, like Newyork or California, allow alcohol to be sold during this time as usual.
US State Wise Time Table For Walmart Alcohol Sales
|State||Alcohol Sales Opening & Closing Hours||Alcohol Sales Days||Exceptions|
|Alabama||6:00 AM – 2:00 AM||Mondays – Saturdays||Sales on Sundays are allowed in the following counties: Autauga, Baldwin, Calhoun, Mobile, Montgomery, Morgan, Perry, Sumter, Greene, Hale, Houston, Jackson, Madison, Tuscaloosa, Russell, Jefferson, Lauderdale, Lee, Colbert, Elmore, Etowah, Lowndes, Macon, St. Claire, and Wilcox.|
|Arizona||6:00 AM – 2:00 AM||Daily|
|Arkansas||7:00 AM – 1:00 AM||Mondays – Saturdays||Sales on Sundays are allowed in the following counties: Baxter, Benton, Franklin, Boone, Carroll, Marion, and Washington
Sales are strictly prohibited on any day in these dry towns: Arkansas, Calhoun, Mississippi, Greene, Jackson, Jefferson, Logan, Sebastian, Cleveland, Pulaski, Conway, Monroe, Ouachita, Poinsett, Prairie, Cross, Crittenden, Drew, Garland, St. Francis, Union, Dallas, and Woodruff.
|California||6:00 AM – 2:00 AM||Daily|
|Colorado||8:00 AM – 12:00 AM||Daily||Alcohol sales are strictly prohibited on Christmas day|
|Connecticut||8:00 AM – 10:00 PM||Mondays – Saturdays||Alcohol sales begin at 10 AM to 6 PM on Sundays|
|Delaware||9:00 AM – 1:00 AM||Mondays – Saturdays||Alcohol sales begin at 12 PM to 8 PM on Sundays|
|District of Columbia (DC)||9:00 AM – 12:00 AM||Daily|
|Florida||7:00 AM – 12:00 AM||Daily||You cannot purchase alcohol bottles larger than 32 fluid ounces.|
|Georgia||12.00 PM – Depending on the County||Set by County||Times and Liquor sales time vary depending on the county the Walmart store is in|
|Hawaii||6:00 AM – 12:00 AM||Daily|
|Idaho||6:00 AM – 1:00 AM||Daily|
|Illinois||Determined by municipalities||Determined by municipalities|
|7:00 AM – 3:00 AM||Mondays – Saturdays
|Alcohol sales begin from 8 AM to 2 AM on Sundays while the sale of cold beers is prohibited on this day.|
|Iowa||6:00 AM – 2:00 AM||Mondays – Saturdays||Alcohol sales begin from 8 AM to 2 AM on Sundays.|
|Kansas||9:00 AM – 11:00 PM||Mondays – Saturdays||Timings vary on Sundays depending on the store’s location|
|6:00 AM – 2:00 AM||Mondays – Saturdays||Alcohol sales being from 1 PM to 2 AM on Sundays|
|Louisiana||12:00 PM – 2:00 AM
|Mondays – Saturdays||Some counties prohibit the sale of alcohol on Sundays|
|Maine||6:00 AM – 1:00 AM||Mondays – Saturdays||Alcohol sales being from 9 AM to 1 AM on Sundays|
|Maryland||Determined by counties||Determined by counties||Sales are strictly prohibited on any day in these dry counties: Baltimore & Garrett|
|Massachusetts||8:00 AM – 11:00 PM||Mondays – Saturdays||Alcohol sales being from 10 AM to 11 PM on Sundays|
|Michigan||7:00 AM – 2:00 AM||Mondays – Saturdays||Alcohol sales being from 12 PM to 2 AM on Sundays|
|Minnesota||8:00 AM – 10:00 PM||Mondays – Saturdays||Alcohol sales being from 11 AM to 6 PM on Sundays|
|Mississippi||10:00 AM – 10:00 PM||Mondays – Saturdays||Liquor sales are strictly prohibited on Sundays
Sales are strictly prohibited on any day in these dry counties:
Benton, Smith, Walthall, Itawamba, Webster, Choctaw, Clarke, and Prentiss.
|Missouri||6:00 AM – 1:00 AM||Mondays – Saturdays||Alcohol sales being from 9 AM to 12 AM on Sundays|
|10:00 AM – 8:00 PM||Daily|
|Nebraska||6:00 AM – 1:00 AM||Mondays – Saturdays||Alcohol sales being at 12 PM on Sundays|
|Nevada||12:00 PM – 12:00 AM||Daily|
|New Hampshire||6:00 AM – 11:45 PM||Daily|
|New Jersey||9:00 AM – 10:00 PM||Daily||Alcohol sales are only permitted in the following counties:
Essex, Hunterdon, Morris, Sussex, Middlesex Union, and Warren.
|New Mexico||9:00 AM – 10:00 PM||Mondays – Saturdays||Alcohol sales begin from 12 PM to 12 AM across the state on Sundays|
|New York||8:00 AM – 12:00 AM(Liquor & Wine)
12:00 PM – 12:00 AM(Beers)
|Mondays to Saturdays||Beer sales are allowed for 24 hours. Liquor and Wine sales start from 12 PM to 9 PM on Sundays.|
|North Carolina||9:00 AM 9:00 PM||Mondays – Saturdays||Alcohol sales begin from 12 PM to 9 PM on Sundays|
|8:00 AM – 2:00 AM||Mondays – Saturdays||Alcohol sales begin from 12 PM to 2 AM on Sundays|
|5:30 AM – 1:00 AM||Daily|
|Oklahoma||10:00 AM – 9:00 PM||Mondays – Saturdays||No sales on Sundays|
|Oregon||7:00 AM – 2:30 AM||Daily|
|Pennsylvania||9:00 AM – 10:00 PM||Mondays – Saturdays||Alcohol sales permitted from 11 AM to 7 PM on Sundays|
|Rhode Island||9:00 AM – 10:00 PM||Mondays – Saturdays||Alcohol sales permitted from 10 AM to 6 PM on Sundays|
|South Carolina||9:00 AM – 7:00 PM||Daily (with some variation according to counties)|
|South Dakota||7:00 AM – 2:00 AM||Daily|
|Tennessee||8:00 AM – 11:00 PM||Mondays – Sundays||Liquor and Wine sales are prohibited on Sundays while beer sales have no limits|
|Texas||7:00 AM – 12:00 AM||Monday – Fridays||Timings vary on weekends based on the county|
|Utah||11:00 AM – 10:00 PM||Mondays – Saturdays||No alcohol sales on Sundays|
|Vermont||6:00 AM – 12:00 AM||Mondays – Saturdays||Alcohol sales permitted between 8 AM and 10 PM on Sundays|
|Virginia||6:00 AM – 12:00 AM||Daily|
|Washington||6:00 AM – 2:00 AM||Daily|
|West Virginia||7:00 AM – 2:00 AM (Beer & Wine)
8:00 AM – 12:00 MN (Liquor)
|Mondays – Saturdays||Only beer and wines are sold on Sundays from 1 PM to 2 AM|
|Wisconsin||6:00 AM – 12:00 AM (Beer & Wine)
6:00 AM – 9:00 PM (Liquor)
|6:00 AM – 2:00 AM||Daily|
Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs)
What Time Does Walmart Stop Selling Alcohol WI?
Wisconsin stops selling alcohol at midnight for beer and wine and at 9 PM for liquor daily. While alcohol sales in the state are permitted daily, the timings are limited to beer, wine, and liquor.
However, the timings to start selling alcohol are all the same, around 6 AM every day, despite the type of alcohol,
Can You Buy Alcohol On Sunday In SC At Walmart?
You can certainly purchase alcohol on Sundays in some counties in South Caroline. The state allows for alcohol sales daily from 9M and 7 PM. However, there may be some timing variations in some counties. So, you have to check with your local Walmart to confirm.
Does Walmart Sell Liquor In Texas After Hours?
Walmart does not sell liquor in Texas after hours. In fact, it would be a crime to sell liquor after the mandated state or county hours in any US state. Alcohol sales in Texas are permitted from 7 AM to 12 AM on Mondays to Fridays. Weekends timings, however, vary by county.
There is no standard one size fits all timetable that tells when does Walmart stop selling alcohol. After all, the timings are not mandated by the grocery store chain management. Instead, each store must follow the laws of the state it is located in.
You will also notice some variations as some stores are required to follow the county laws on alcohol sales. But, with the detailed table above, you have a reliable foundation to give you an idea of alcohol sales at Walmart.
It’s good to plan your purchase around these times to avoid being disappointed. Nonetheless, at least now, you have a good idea of when you should get those emergency bottles of wine or beer packs.